Founder talks about his past walks in Africa where Mobility Carts are delivered today

Maker of the PET Mobility Cart since 1994.

How would you like to experience a little of Africa thru your gift?

Give the Gift of Mobility, Dignity, and Opportunity!

MW MO-Columbia Update: 432 built since 1-1-17

Are we sending Mobility Carts back home to our relatives? Let me tell you a story, a true one:

In 1990 I was in Africa for an extensive meeting of Habitat for Humanity. Two others of the HFH board and I invested a week in Malawi evaluating our work there. Then we had a meeting in Entebbe, Uganda, and were in Kenya.

In my spare time, I did a lot of walking, once through a protected area that had never had an axe taken to it. I expected to see Tarzan come riding the grape vines to meet me. I began to have a feeling I’ve never had before in traveling, I felt a strange feeling of being “at home”. That feeling continued, but I kept it to myself. On the plane ride home I sat beside a woman board member from the state of Washington. Without my prompting she said, “You know, Mel. I’ve had the strangest feeling in Africa. I felt like I was at home.”

Was it imagination, or did the “homing pigeon” within us kick in? I do not know. I report.
We do know that we anatomically modern humans (homo sapiens), according to the paleoanthropologists, first walked upright in the Great Rift Valley area where we visited in eastern Africa. Some 100,000 years ago we began to disperse through the world.

After a long hike some of us made it into what is now the USA, and some us feel a strong urgency to help our African ancestors who first learned to walk upright many thousands of years ago, but are now leg-handicapped, to again be mobile. After all, it’s in the family!

This young woman has leg paralysis and was given the Mobility Cart through Mulanje District Hospital, one of our partner hospitals in Malawi. Neal S. Walker, Assistant Director: Medical and Program Initiatives Brother’s Brother Foundation

***********************************************************
“The whole world is my family.” – Pope John XXII- 1965

Mel West, Director Emeritus
DBA Mobility Worldwide MO – Columbia

Leave a Reply

