PET/MW: Can the cross be direction for your lifestyle and prompt giving mobility?

Maker of the PET cart since 1994.

You can respond when your sister or brother needs rugged mobility.

Give the Gift of Mobility, Dignity, and Opportunity!

Mobility Worldwide MO-Columbia Update: 35 built since 1-1-17

This afternoon as I made my daily walk through Lenoir Woods, I met a young man who was here to visit his grandmother, the widow of Harold Wilson, one of our long-time PET volunteers. In the conversation, he said that ten years ago he met me and still remembered my understanding of the cross as a basis for mission. I’ve had others tell me how much that story means to them, so I tell it here.

I grew up on a dairy farm, earned a degree in Dairy Husbandry at MU, and Barbara and I returned to the farm and established a Grade A dairy farm. In 1959 I felt a call to go into the ministry. We sold the cows, rented the farm, and moved to Dallas, TX, for six years of seminary and the pastoring of an inner city church.

Soon after we moved, I was in the seminary library pondering all that, seeking guidance. I was contemplating the meaning of the scripture, “If anyone would follow me they must deny themselves, take up their cross daily, and follow me.” One writer’s explanation of that was that the cross was not meant to be a piece of jewelry made of gold, or an expensive piece of wood or steel placed high over a church building. The cross, he said, is to be our lifestyle. On the horizontal bar, write “human need.” On the vertical bar, write “my ability to respond.”

cross%20need%20and%20ability%20to%20respond

If we have the ability to respond, then we have responsibility. It is just that simple. That applies to needs very large or very small. That made sense to me, for it is exactly what Jesus did.

So, I have bought into that theology, trying to be alert to human needs, and then seeking out ways to meet them. The PET mobility cart fit that. Larry Hills told me of the tremendous needs of the leg-handicapped of the world. I felt a responsibility to help solve that. Many, many of you joined in, and PET has become an amazing mission.

That understanding of the cross became my lifestyle, and I commend it to you. It is a very satisfying way to invest one’s life. Try it. You’ll like it.
***********************************************
“The meaning of life is to find your gift. The purpose of life is to give it away.” – Pablo Picasso

Mel West, Director Emeritus
DBA Mobility Worldwide MO – Columbia

Leave a Reply

